Glimpse

Monday, July 21, 2014

Scholastic Monday ~ Zoe's Jungle

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Summer is here and that means lots of OUTDOOR adventures, right?! Our kids have enjoyed all types of outdoor adventures already this year, and I love seeing their imaginations run wild. :) In fact, my son tells me that when he grows up he wants to be an explorer...what a job that would be! ;) Either way, it always brings joy to my heart to see my kids exploring and imagining together during these beautiful summer months.

However, a part of summer also includes rainy days, and for days like these, Scholastic Canada has a great selection of books to help keep kids busy, keep their minds active, and give them plenty of fuel for new adventures either inside or outside. One that we recently have added to our collection is Zoe's Jungle by Bethanie Deeney Murguia. In this fun little story, Zoe is a fearless explorer in the jungle and she catches a glimpse of the extraordinary and VERY rare wild Addiebeast. She does what any explorer would do and begins to pursue the Addiebeast in hopes of catching it...however, her mother calls out a "We're leaving in 5 Minutes" warning (does this sound familiar to any other moms out there? ;) ) Five minutes doesn't seem like much time to catch that Addiebeast, but Zoe races against the clock to finish her quest in time. Her jungle is actually a playground, and the book vividly portrays how her imagination turns it into a jungle. Will she catch the Addiebeast in time?!

Zoe's Jungle is a children's book that is full of fun and character. The simple cartoon drawings draw kids in - and really add to the story. It is a fun book to keep on the bookshelf for a rainy day or a quiet time and it may even inspire your own kids to start a new adventure!

Friday, July 18, 2014

Keep Your Kids Entertained and Educated this Summer! ~ CONTEST!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Summer is meant to be a 'break' from those long days of sitting at school desks, studying and learning...right? Well, technically...yes! I can't imagine not allowing kids to spend days playing outside in the beautiful summer weather away from those school desks, but on the other hand - do we really need to hault all education and learning during the summer? In my opinion, summer is a time to learn and explore all sorts of things! We love to focus on topics that specifically interest our children and aim to do a LOT of hands-on learning activities during the summer months (our most recent was raising tadpoles into frogs! VERY fun, interesting and educational!)

However, that said, even those of us with the best intentions will run out of ideas at some point...plus, I've found that the rainy days can be long and drawn out if we don't have something planned to keep the kids occupied inside. This is when we look to DK Canada, and they have a fabulous Summer Boutique happening right now. There are tons of great activity books (all available at 30% off for a limited time) for kids. They can be used during the long, hot days, or during the extra long, rainy days! We usually pull these out on the rainy days and have been especially impressed with one of DK Canada's more recent collections - the Ultimate Factivity Collection books. These books are along the same lines as the Ultimate Sticker Collection books, but in addition to including more than 500 stickers each, they also have loads of great activities such as games, quizzes, challenges and opportunities to create and use your imagination!

Our son recently expressed an interest in learning more about different kinds of rocks. So, it goes without saying that one of our first picks for our rainy day entertainment was Rocks and Minerals from the Summer Boutique. The book includes a little bit of everything, from crafts to games to stickers. It's been a great way to fill his mind with fascinating facts and information about the world of rocks and minerals. He really enjoys the book as well - and isn't even worried that it might be helping him learn and practice things such as language or cognitive skills! ;)

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Kiss That Itch Goodbye! ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

I love summer! It definitely is my favorite season of the year, but there is just one small little part that I would like to live with out - and that is the mosquito! Yes, we could definitely live without mosquitoes and all the itchy-ness they cause us. However, the reality is that they live here too, and they're not about to leave, so we better find a way to at least tolerate them. Due to an unusually wet spring, the mosquitoes are worse than usual this year, so it really is a miracle if you can go outside and come in without getting any bites. Normally, at least a few of them find their way to us and our children and leave us with some mosquito bites to deal with. The question is...how do we deal with them?!

Over the past years I've tried a variety of different products, creams, natural remedies, etc. None of them have really been able to get rid of the itch in the way that I had been hoping for. They might 'calm' the itch somewhat - but that's about as far as the remedies I've tried have taken us. Recently I was introduced to a new product though, and I'll admit, I agreed to try it out but with an attitude of "it probably won't work any better than the other natural remedies we've tried!" This time, I've been forced to 'eat my words!' Kiss My Itch Goodbye has FAR exceeded my expectations and has been providing us with almost instant relief from all our itchy bites. Even my kids agree that it works FAR better than anything else we've tried. In fact, just tonight I rubbed some Kiss My Itch Goodbye lotion onto a few of their mosquito bites and within a minute or less they claimed that the itching had already stopped. I thought that sounded a little too good to be true, so I tried it on my own itchy bites...and had the same result!! Yep, let's just say, I was VERY impressed!

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Summer Snacking!! GIVEAWAY!!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Summer is a great time for road trips, or days out - and we always need to bring food with us. Our kids seem to be hungry all the time lately - especially when they go to Grandma's house! :) Often I have something prepared, but it's handy to have something suitable in the cupboard that I can just grab on the way out too! Mostly we eat fruit and veggies in reusable snack bags, but our kids love a treat too (who doesn't!) and I'm ok with that every once in a while as well. I do have some pretty strict standards though, and it's hard to find a prepared snack that meets my criteria!

G.H. Cretors invented the popcorn machine in 1885 and the company has been making and selling popcorn ever since! Their popcorn is available in a few tasty flavour options:
  • Chicago Mix (mix of cheese and caramel)
  • Just the Cheese
  • Just the Caramel
  • Organic Simply Salted
  • Organic EVOO
That was already pretty interesting. What caught my attention even more was what the G.H. Cretors company said about their products:
  • all natural: no artifical colours, flavours or preservatives
  • gluten-free
  • non-GMO
  • kosher
  • brown rice syrup is used as a sweetener
We've been trying out the Chicago Mix - the kids love it!! I think I prefer the caramel pieces myself, but that's because I have a sweet tooth! The kids seem to devour both flavours equally. It's available in single-serve bags as well as larger packs and the single-serve bags are perfect for taking along and would be great to include in lunches! If you prefer caramel (made with REAL butter) or cheese (made with REAL cheese), these varieties might be available at your local store too! I've been impressed that the kernels are so big and fluffy, and the coating is so pleasantly crispy. I also really like that there haven't been any unpopped (really hard) kernels in the bags - very important when feeding children.

G.H. Cretors products are available in Canada at: Costco, Sobeys, Loblaws Real Superstore (those with a Natural Food Section), No Frills (those with a Natural Food Section) as well as some local retailers. Please use the store locator to find a retailer near you!

WIN IT!!!


One lucky Glimpse reader is going to win a box of 24 Chicago Mix Single Serving bags (1.5-Ounce each)!! This contest is open to Canada and the US!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 14, 2014

DK Discovery Day ~ Stars and Planets Glow in the Dark ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Space is one of those parts of our universe that is truly fascinating! I remember being fascinated by it all as a kid...and my husband used to want to be an astronaut as a kid. These days though, I get to watch our own children become enthralled in the world of stars, planets, galaxies and more. In fact, just a few months ago, we did an entire unit study on Space and I will readily admit that even I learned a few new things!

One of the resources that we used was from DK Canada; Stars and Planets Glow in the Dark. This hardcover books is packed full of useful information about the solar system, planets and more. The book has a bunch of neat features as well that children will certainly enjoy. The die-cuts are a great addition to the book and it really makes the book look interesting and irresistible to a youngster...or even to a grown-up! ;) Stars and Planets also has plenty of full color images, labels, descriptions and fun facts. As I said, it's packed full of great stuff for anyone who is looking to learn more about our solar system. The poster and sheet of glow-in-the-dark stickers that was included with the book was definitely a favorite activity during our study of space and the solar system! Our three oldest children really enjoyed adding the stickers to the poster and creating a fabulously fun solar system poster that glows in the dark. Now the only issue is that we need to make sure that all the kids get a chance to have it in their room for several nights so they can check out the glow-in-the-dark stickers instead of going to sleep at night. *wink*

Thursday, July 10, 2014

So Sweet for Summer! ~ GIVEAWAY!!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Summer weather is officially here and we couldn't be more thrilled about it!! I'm one of those moms who eagerly waits all spring, winter and fall for these few months of hot, sunny summer weather, and you can be sure that the kids and I spend as much of it outdoors as possible when it finally get here. There are great things about all the seasons, but I'm sure it is obvious to you that summer is definitely my favorite. ;)

Along with summertime comes swimming, camping, shorts, t-shirts and this year that also includes our absolutely adorable and summery Boho Tunic Top from Lil' Mama's Boutique! It has quickly become a favorite for our girls as well. The Boho Tunic Top is made out of lightweight cotton or seersucker fabric and works well with a variety of different outfits. So far we've paired it with shorts, skirts and leggings but it would also work well with a skirt or jeans. It is very versatile! The top is shirred with elastic around the neckline and the waist (though you can opt out of the waist shirring if you prefer). Personally, I love the look that the shirring gives around the neck and the waist and it makes the top unique, fun and cute!

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Channeling the Everyday with Cathy Thorne

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).



Some days you just need to laugh. Does anyone else know that feeling? This week we had it all: teething,
housing repairs from our landlord, and the realization of just how quickly our summer filled up with family and life commitments without my calendar letting me know.

Some days you just need to laugh . . . or pick up some of Cathy Thorne’s work but, as I found out, that’s essentially saying the same thing.

Monday, July 7, 2014

Scholastic Monday ~ Make Clay Charms!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Charms are a lot of fun to wear...especially with all the fun selection you can find these days! Our girls love to accessorize, and charms are a great way to add a little something extra special to your outfit. One of our girls' other favorite activities is to do crafts. They'd do crafts all day if I had the time and energy to keep up with that pace. ;) Unfortunately, I don't...BUT I do love to find fun craft sets and kits that they can work on without needing too much extra help and attention from me. Scholastic Canada's line of Klutz products is one of the first places that I often look for these types of books and kits. They do a fabulous job of mixing together creativity, crafts and the opportunity to create something practical, useful or fun!

Make Clay Charms is one of these types of kits, and it is a great way to get kids creating charms of their very own...with their own personal flavors, styles and touches! Make Clay Charms is includes really simple step-by-step instructions for about 30 different designs that kids can make. A few of these include animals, mini sweets, fruit and even monsters. Our son definitely wanted to get in on the action when he saw there monster charms to be made! You and your kids will have 9 bright colors of clay to work with and after baking them you can add some extra shine with the special glaze that is also included in the kit. Everything you need to get your kids making their own fun, custom charms is included in the Make Clay Charms kit, so it is a great way to get crafty with your kids on a rainy day this summer without having to spend hours of time preparing, buying supplies, etc.

Make Clay Charms also comes with a charm bracelet and a fold-out drying and display rack. The display rack gives you a place to store those extra charms when they aren't being used. This kit from Klutz makes a great gift idea! It's also ideal to keep on your bookshelf for those days during the summer when your kids need a change of pace and you think they need to let that creative side come out and create for a while!

Saturday, July 5, 2014

All About Applecheeks

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Rocking our Applecheeks
Applecheeks diapers have fast become a Canadian standard in cloth diapering. The brain-child of Ilana and
Amy of Montreal Quebec, Applecheeks diapers offers families a cloth diapering system that is fun, fashionable, and easy to use - all factors which have aided in growing Applecheeks loyal fanbase.

Although I've been familiar with Applecheeks and their community for a little over a year, I had never had the chance to try out their products, which is why I was curious to put them to the test.

Friday, July 4, 2014

The Sippy Cup That Beats All Others!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

In the last 8 years of being a Mom, we have tried a LOT of sippy cups, straw cups, baby bottles, etc. Yes, many, many different brands have passed through our house - some stayed longer than others but eventually most of them ended up exiting our house for a variety of different reasons...such as, the child didn't like the cup, the cup leaked, it was broken, etc. Needless to say, we've tried our share of different types of children's cups in our home, and in the end there are only a few that have come out on top of our list! It has varied a bit from child to child but with our youngest daughter, there is no doubt in our minds as to what her favorite cup is - the Truly Spill Proof Straw Cup from Tommee Tippee!

These cups are fabulous...not only because our little one really enjoys them, but because they really are spill proof. So far, we have not had ANY leaks out of our straw cups from Tommee Tippee, and this includes the times when our 2 year old decides that she needs some liquids to "cook" with in her own kitchen so she dumps her cup upside down and shakes to try to get at least a few drops of juice, milk or water out! This method has worked for her with other brands of cups, but we finally hit the jackpot with the Tommee Tippee Truly Spill Proof Straw Cup as it keeps all liquids safely tucked away inside. She has not been successful in getting ANY out, which is a real treat for us as parents!

Affilliations

Sites we enjoy

Vote for us!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Please rate us at The Mom Blogs

  © Template modified from Blogger template "Simple n' Sweet" by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP