Glimpse

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Making Math Fun!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Math...it was always my least favorite subject when I was in school! Math was just not my strong point, and lets just say that I would've rather been studying history or reading a novel than crunching numbers. Math takes a lot of brain power to master and understand, and with the limited time that the teachers have to get all the kids in their class learning and understanding math concepts, some of the students will fall between the cracks. Here's the comical part of it all...now that I have my own children, we've decided to homeschool so you know what that means...yep, I am the one who has to now TEACH all these same math concepts and skills to our children! There's nothing quite like teaching a skill to make you finally learn it well...and possibly even learn to love it! ;)

DK Canada is a company that I wish would've been around when I was "that" kid in school who really, really disliked math and just needed some extra motivation and resources to help me realize that I could do it and math could be fun! DK Canada never fails to give Canadian families the resources they need (Canadian-based resources too!) to help their kids along in a huge variety of subjects that they will be covering in school. One of the more major ones, of course, is math. DK Canada has all sorts of great and very helpful, math books and resources for both parents and children. We received a few math workbooks for our younger girls to try out and both of the books were received into our home with excitement and anticipation.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Just Add a little Fruit Spread...

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Summer holidays are a great time...relaxing at times, yet busy in other ways! Instead of doing all the regular school day preparation and activities, you probably have found yourself packing up picnics, going to the park, gardening, and spending every spare minute outside in the beautiful summer weather! That all keeps us pretty busy around here during the summer, but in a week or two we will be saying goodbye to the long days spent in the backyard and will be entering into the busy-ness that comes with the coming school year. One thing that really is important (yet might often get pushed to the side due to not having enough time, etc.) is preparing healthy school lunches for our children. There are all types of things that can stand in the way of having the time to plan and prepare healthy meals...but, in our opinion, it is something that is VERY important and we as parents need to find a way to make those healthy lunches and meals for our kids...even when we are on the go.

One discovery that we've made over the past year or two is that sometimes it's the little things that matter the most! Maybe you don't always have time to make your own homemade bread, but lets at least make sure that what is on the bread is something that is healthy and nutritious! Crofter's Organic is a perfect example of something to top that slice of bread with. Kids will love it (so will parents! *wink*) and it offers families a lower sugar, healthier option that is simply delicious. Crofters has a great variety of spreads to choose from as well - something to satisfy everyone - even the picky eaters!

If you're already feeling 'stuck in a rut' when it comes to school lunch ideas, you'll want to check out the following:

Crofter’s Top 10 Meals and Snack Ideas for Back-to-School:

1. Pair Crofter’s Organic Fruit spread with organic almond butter for a lower-sugar take on the traditional PB&J.
2. Switch out peanut butter with organic cream cheese for a delicious sandwich safe for those with nut allergies.
3. Replace sugar with Crofter’s Jam when making muffins for a lower-sugar breakfast and lunchtime snack.
4. Add a dollop of Crofter’s Strawberry Just Fruit spread instead of high-sugar syrups on waffles or pancakes.
5. Make a “bento box” of sliced cheeses, sausage, crackers and a side of jam for a quick afternoon snack.
6. Mix a teaspoon of Crofter’s Organic fruit spread into plain greek yogurt.
7. Mix cream cheese and jam and spread on graham crackers.
8. Try a turkey sandwich with Crofter’s Organic pomegranate spread!
9. Spread Crofter’s Morello Cherry Premium spread on ham and roll it up for a low-carb snack!
10. Mix Crofter’s Organic Seville Orange with cream cheese and use as dip for cut-up fruits.

Monday, August 25, 2014

Squoosh...the Ultimate Snack! ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Sometimes life just gets busy. Whether that business comes at a time when you've got toddlers and babies in your home, or whether it comes at a time when you're trying to pack lunches and get your children to school on time...the truth still stands...sometimes life just gets busy. For us, life just got a little bit busier this past month when we welcomed another little baby into our family. Time slips by at an alarming rate these days...and at times I've found it hard to have healthy and convenient snacks and food items on hand for my four other children who are apparently hungry pretty much all the time!

So, when it comes to snacks, packing lunches or even just the desire to have healthy AND convenient items in our pantry, I often turn to Baby Gourmet who has created a snack line for toddlers and beyond. Squoosh is an organic snack that will give your child one full serving of fruits and vegetables in every pouch. In other words - they are EXACTLY what moms-on-the-go or kids-on-the-go need! Squoosh is super convenient - simply twist of the cap and enjoy! It is also super healthy as it is packed full of fruit and veggie goodness. All of the Squoosh flavors have no added sugar or salt, are kosher, and are nut-free and gluten-free.

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Protect your school stuff!! ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).
 
It's important to protect your belongings. At school, in your locker, or at home (from your younger siblings), at the pool/gym... Dudley has been a school standard since 1922. They've got experience protecting your stuff!!

Included in their product range are:
  • combination locks (in a variety of styles and colours)
  • locker accessories (such as shelves, mats, mirrors, hooks)
  • bike and sport locks (key or combinations)
  • backpacks (including lunch bags!)

Two new products have recently joined their line-up:
  • The Load 'n Lock Pencil Box
  • The Fully Loaded Lunch (to match the Fully Loaded Backpack)

Andrea and I (Julie) received one of each of these to try out with our kids as we prepare to get back to a learning and school routine! The Load N Lock Pencil Pod is offered in blue, pink, metallic, silver, green and purple and retails for $14.99. The Fully Loaded Lunch can stand up straight, or flat on its back, and it retails for $14.99.

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Inspiring, Educational & FUN! ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

I've always loved animals - ever since I was a child they were a 'bright spot' in my day. My favorite animal (besides me pet cats ;) ) was always the giant panda. I was fascinated by them, and just loved those adorable black & white cuddly-looking bears. Yes, there's always been a soft spot in my heart for animals, and especially for animals that are hurt, need a home, or are endangered. I do believe that it is our responsibility to take care of the animals that share the earth with us, and this is something that I want to pass onto our children. Of course, there will always be death and people who "break the rules" so to speak, but that doesn't mean that we shouldn't be doing our part to care for animals and keep them from extinction. We definitely want to be a family that is aware of things such as endangered animals and as a family that does what they can to protect and care for the animals that God has given to us!

Anouk's Ark is a Canadian company that wholeheartedly promotes this thought! In fact, it is their goal to inspire people to save endangered species. There are many ways to create awareness about endangered species, but most of these ways do not appeal to children. However, Anouk's Ark has created several top-notch, Canadian-made products that not only inspire children & adults but that also have the added aspects of both fun and education!

Learn to Read, Read to Learn!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

I LOVE to read! I'll admit...I have much less time for reading these days as a mom of 5 children, but the fact still remains - that when I DO have the time, I really enjoy reading. One of my goals as a parent is to pass on my love for reading to our children. I truly believe that nothing can stop someone who loves to read. Reading is one of the best ways to learn and it opens up a whole new world for children (and adults!) I could go on and on about the benefits of being an avid reader who truly enjoys cracking open book after book, but I will stop for now. :) Instead, I'll share with you one company that has been fabulous for our family and for developing a love for reading in my eldest child (a boy :) ).

Now that our oldest child has begun to truly LOVE to read, there's nothing that's stopping him. I'll often find him on the couch reading book after book and reader after reader. DK's Amazing Animal Journeys was a great reader fro him to add to his collection. It is full of full color photography, attention-grabbing illustrations and age appropriate stories and language. Of course, one of my favorite aspects of a reader such as this one is that not only is the child reading, but they are also learning new information. Even I found this book fascinating!

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Back to School with a Smile and LOL

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).


One of my favourite things about moving forward in school is the ability to customize my workspace. Whether it was high school, college, or even in my post-college life the need to put my stamp on a workspace shows no signs of slowing down.

 I’ve always believed that being able to express yourself, even in tiny ways, can make the learning environment more comfortable and encourage healthier learning.

With a new school year fast approaching, I was delighted to find LOL, a company that also believes that a
student’s space does not need to be boring.


LOL offers a full range of products and accessories for tweens, teens, and fun-loving college students. Whether it's decking out a locker, dorm room, or favourite study nook LOL offers something for any personality or space requirements.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Labelling your child's belongings - at school and daycare... GIVEAWAY!!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).


Everywhere you send your child - school, daycare, (day) camp - they always ask for belongings to be labelled. We've found that even in our family, it helps to have each person's things labelled so that each person gets his or her own! :) Plus, there's the advantage that if a labelled object is lost, and found, it has a greater chance of being returned. (I say greater, because it does depend on the person finding it actually reading the label and doing something about it - something I've been frustrated with at our kids' school. Not the label's fault, of course!) So when you're searching through a pile of nearly identical black mittens, you can tell which one is your child's. Or when there's a mitten collection taken from the floor of the classroom (yes, this happens!), each child can recognize their own. Because, of course, even though they wear the mittens regularly, they'd never know which one was theirs without their name on it. (Yes, this happens regularly too!)

Of course, the littler children like to have their belongings labelled for the sheer pleasure of reading their name - likely the first word they can recognize in print! Our little miss loves to see her name beautifully displayed on all her precious stuff! In fact, I have to hide the labels so that it all doesn't become hers! :)

Monday, August 18, 2014

Scholastic Monday ~ Ricky Ricotta ~ GIVEAWAY (3 WINNERS!)

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

If you have some budding readers in your home...or even if you WISH you had some budding readers in your home, this could just be your lucky day! If you take a broad sweep across the world of readers, I believe that you'll find that usually girls are a little more quick to be the ones who love to read and will eagerly sit down and devour story after story. However, oftentimes, boys are more reluctant. One "trick" I've found to get our oldest (a boy) excited about reading is to have books on hand that really interest him. You know, ones about monster trucks, robots, knights, castles, etc. It's amazing how quickly he has begun to truly enjoy sitting down and reading a stack of books! Once he was hooked on books, it's been hard to slow him down - and I am always running out of good books for him to read. (and yes, that is a GOOD problem! :) ).

Scholastic Canada has some great options for both all ages and stages of readers. They have a series of easy to read chapter books that are perfect for boys who might need a little extra encouragement to sit down and read. The Ricky Ricotta books are a series of 4 titles (so far!) that feature Little Ricky Ricotta. In the first book we are introduced to Ricky Ricotta, who has a problem with the bullies at school. One day something BIG happens and he saves the life of a might robot who now becomes a loyal follower/friend of Ricky's and helps Ricky face those big, bad bullies. In fact, together they even save their little town of Squeakyville!

Friday, August 15, 2014

Flush EZ-er!! GIVEAWAY!!

That's EASIER!!

Sometimes flushing can be a problem because of a clog - you know, when the t.p. got wadded and stuck! Or the volume of water just isn't enough to wash it all down. One of the best things you can do to prevent this is to use a toilet paper that breaks down in water easily (EZ-ily? :) )

Tammy Buchanan, a plumber and the founder of Small Jobs Plumbing - the first female owned and operated plumbing company in Nova Scotia - and mother to an eight-year-old boy, deals with clogs all the time. Tammy wants to share her tips and advice on how to fix some of the most common toilet troubles with Canadians through the e•z Toilet Fixes videos on Majesta.com.

Affilliations

Sites we enjoy

Vote for us!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Please rate us at The Mom Blogs

  © Template modified from Blogger template "Simple n' Sweet" by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP