Glimpse

Monday, March 2, 2015

It's Banana Cream Pie Day!! ~ GIVEAWAY!!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

There are a lot of holidays and special days that I am finding out that I have been missing out on during the last 30 years. Today is one of those days! Did you know that March 2nd is Banana Cream Pie Day?! I sure didn't, but all of us do love a good Banana Cream Pie, so I am all for adding this holiday to our calendar! *wink* Here's a few other fun little facts that I didn't know...

~ Banana's have been popular in North America since 1880...so they've been around for a while are definitely one of the most popular fruits...in fact, I'm not sure if I've ever met anyone who didn't enjoy bananas!
~ The first recipe for Banana Cream Pie appeared in 1901 and came out of Chicago, IL.
~ Retro desserts are getting more popular all the time. :)

It also turns out that Gay Lea wants to help us celebrate Banana Cream Pie Day this year (and in years to come) so they've come up with a new twist on this classic pie...let's find out what it is! In order to help celebrate national Banana Cream Pie Day, Gay Lea has added their new Coconut Whipped Cream to the pie to make the ultimate Chocolate Coconut Banana Cream Pie recipe. Mmmmm...just reading that makes me hungry, and here's the best part - they are going to share this scrumptious sounding recipe with ALL of us! So get out your pie plate and your ingredients and supplies and let's get baking!

DK Discovery Day ~ Elephants, Crocodiles & Super Heroes ~ GIVEAWAY!!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Reading is one of the top skills and things that I want to teach my children - and not only do I want to teach them how to read well but I also want them to learn that reading is FUN!!! I've heard it said before that if your child learns to love to read there is nothing that they won't be able to learn...and I have a feeling that in most cases, this is true. When I think about the things that our 8 year old son has learned simply from reading books, it really is amazing! Reading opens up a world of information for both young readers and grown-up readers.

As a parent, one thing that can be a little tricky sometimes is to find good quality readers and books for my children that they will be able to both enjoy and learn from. In the past few years one of our favorite places to find this type of reading material has been DK Canada and guess what?! They recently have released (or are in the process of releasing!) a bunch of brand new readers! Yes, I am the kind of mom who gets excited when I hear that new books that my kids are going to love are being released. ;) So, this week let's take a peek at a few of these new titles coming from DK Canada...

Hope for the Elephants
Most children love animals, and the mighty elephant is one that definitely caught our kids' attention. This DK Reader is designed to improve reading skills and to also be engaging and interesting for your child to read. It is a true story about David who joins his Grandma on a trip to Asia and Africa to study the problems that elephants are facing. For one week they care for some of these gentle giants at an Asian elephant sanctuary. Then they meet with an anti-poaching patrol and some staff and researchers at a nature reserve. This book is a great way to create awareness about the very real dangers that elephants are facing today ans well as to simply learn more about elephants in general. The book is full of real-life photography as well which seems to always capture our children's attention and even gets them asking more questions.

Saturday, February 28, 2015

The Littlest Bunny ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Winter is often the longest season of the year...mostly due to how much time we spend inside during the cold, snowy winter days. However, it seems that the winter months have been speeding by a little faster than usual this year...and before we know it spring will be here and so will Easter! Easter is a meaningful holiday in our home. Although we definitely like to take our time to focus on the true meaning of Easter, we also enjoy taking the opportunity to do some fun Easter activities with our children. We're already "priming the pump" with some fabulously fun AND educational books from Sourcebooks. The Littlest Bunny Series features a bunny named Flop as he travels around in an air balloon full of Easter eggs. As Flop travels he visits some of the most-loved landmarks across Canada and the USA.

Join Sourcebooks in celebrating a visit from the Easter Bunny! We’re offering copies of The Littlest Bunny just in time for April. We've been enjoying The Littlest Bunny in Canada and The Littlest Bunny in Ottawa these past few weeks. These books are a lot of fun and have been written especially for the specific city or country. The series includes titles for all 50 states as well as Canada and cities in Canada.

Family Day, I Love You Day & Kinder! #Kindermom

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Despite the COLD winter weather, February really is a great month of the year because it's got two special days that our family loves to celebrate! This year we had a lot of fun with both of them. First off, it was Valentine's Day - or "I Love You Day" as we've nicknamed it. This day is a special one, especially as our children are growing older! We started off the morning with some heart-shaped pancakes and a special treasure hunt where our kids discovered some heart-shaped, Valentine's themed treasures. There's nothing quite like finding a treat hiding inside Daddy's shoes! *wink*

Of course, chocolate is a staple treat and little gift idea when it comes to Valentine's Day and according to our children there are no treats that are quite as fun as the much-loved and very popular Kinder Surprise treats. The chocolate is delicious and there were some fun little surprises inside too - I have to mention that our daughters were thrilled about the new Disney Fairies toys inside their eggs! Kinder Canada has released some great new Kinder Surprise toys just for the Valentine's season this year. They include new Disney Fairies toys and some really neat Transformers heart trains for the boys! Although Valentine's Day is over for this year I'm sure you could still find a few of the Valentine's themed toys hiding inside some Kinder Surprises!

The second special day in February isn't one that all provinces recognize, but I'm thrilled that we are in a province that does take a day off for Family Day! My family is very important to me, and I love having the opportunity to have an extra day to just spend together as a family. Although it really was too chilly to do any outdoor activities there was nothing stopping us from sitting down to play some fun board games together with some tasty snacks nearby. Since Kinder Surprise is all about creating special moments for families it seems obvious to me that some Kinder treats would be a great addition to Family Day as well. :)

Friday, February 27, 2015

Spice up your life!!

We've been experimenting at meal times lately - it's so easy to get into a rut! I'd like food to be a tasty adventure for our children, and I'd like to help them try out new tastes and develop their palate. Maybe it's the winter blahs a bit - we've had lots and lots of warming comfort food, but it's still too cold to break out the summer recipes, and we're ready for a change!

Good thing RawSpiceBar is there to help us all out!! This is a lovely little subscription service providing small-batch, freshly ground spice blends - right to your door! :) For $6 (free shipping to both US and Canada!), you receive 3-4 inspired spice blends, enough to make 3 tasty dishes (serving 8-12 people).

Often when you want to try out a new, especially ethnic, recipe, you have to go out and buy the spices specially. There are a couple of options - supermarket spices, where you end up with a whole jar of something you're not sure you'd ever use again, and how old they are, or a bulk foods store, where you could buy the amounts  you need, but are still unsure of the age of the product. Ground spices lose their flavour quickly. You might even have to purchase a lot of separate ingredients and blend the spices yourself. Not terrible, but time consuming.

With RawSpiceBar, whole, high quality spices are acquired, pan toasted, blended and freshly ground. They arrive ready for you to use, accompanied by tasty sounding recipes! Each month has a different ethnic focus - January's was Navajo cuisine and February's is a Punjabi-inspired menu. All of the spice blends are gluten-free, and contain no fillers or additives such as MSG, rice, sugar or flour. (*Spice blends are not guaranteed to be nut or dairy free, although they typically do not contain nuts.)

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Veggie Tales ~ Noah's Ark! ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Noah's Ark is one of the most loved Bible stories. It's one of the first Bible stories that you learn about as a child, and it's one that still holds a sense of awe and wonder in my mind now, even though I'm (mostly) all grown up. *wink* We can't deny that it's a fabulous part of the Bible, and the makers of VeggieTales must agree because they've taken up the task of re-telling the adventures of Noah, his family and his ark full of animals through a brand new Bible-themed DVD!

The story of Noah's Ark is played out by many of the most loved and most popular Veggie Tales characters. The DVD begins to tell the amazing story of Noah's Ark with Shem and Sadie who return home from their honeymoon to find that Noah (played by Pa Grape) has begun, at God’s direction, to work on a massive ark, which his wife Naamah (played by Madame Blueberry) and sons Ham (played by Larry) and Japheth (played by Bob) are helping construct before the start of 40 days and 40 nights of rain. However, Shem is having trouble understanding Noah's unshakable faith in God. Things get even stranger when the animals start arriving two-by-two but there is no rain to be seen. It doesn't take too much longer for Shem to begin to understand Noah's determination and to also realize how important it is to trust God.

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Perfecting the Science of Sleep...

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Getting a good night's sleep is pretty important! However, it's also something that most of us tend not to get. There are a variety of reasons that can cause us to not get a good nights sleep and they can range from an overactive mind, to a sleepless baby, or to not having proper neck/head support and therefore being uncomfortable or experiencing discomfort/pain during the night or after waking.

In our home, a poor night's sleep often comes from having to get up with children who have woken up at night...however, when I do get to sleep I will readily admit that I've turned into somewhat of a "pillow-snob." :) In other words, my pillow needs to be really comfortable! This means that I prefer a pillow that does not off-gas and that is a good quality, natural pillow to rest my head on. It also means that I need to sleep with a pillow that provides good support and that is adjustable and comfortable. Sounds like a pretty great pillow, right?

The pillow that has been meeting these needs recently is the IntelliGEL Pillow from Gelbeds.ca. This pillow has a soft foam core with an air chamber that is adjustable and will provide you with custom support for your head and neck.

One of the great things about the Intelli-pillow that it works well for both side sleepers and back sleepers...versatility is always a plus! Personally, I am almost always a side sleeper, and the pillow has been wonderful for my side-sleeping purposes. When I shop for a pillow there are two main things that I look for. First, I look for a pillow that is natural and will provide a healthy, safe place for me to rest and sleep. Secondly, I look for a pillow that is durable and comfortable. So, let's see how this pillow measures up!

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Vichy for Him and Her! GIVEAWAY!!!



Ok, so this is a little late for Valentine's Day, "spoil-you" prezzies for both him and her, but it's still February, and I'm a firm believer in showing you care every day, not just certain days of the year! So ladies and gents, you could go out and spoil yourselves or your significant others at the end of February too! :) Just saying...

By the end of February, my skin is tired of winter. Never mind my skin - my whole self has had enough winter! But most sunny days, I can still get by :) but my skin is sure telling me it's time for something different. Dry, cold air, lots of extra washing due to germs, my hands especially are really complaining. But I started noticing a difference in my face too... and was I ever glad when the latest Vichy package for me arrived! We're featuring some Vichy Homme products this time around too. My little girl loves opening the parcels, and when she opened the fancy black envelope and found "V CREAM" for Papa, she was tickled! Actually, my husband was pretty pleased to try them out too. More about that in a couple of paragraphs. :)

LiftActiv Supreme

Back to me...a certain little someone, has been noticing grey hairs appearing on my head, and is worried about me getting old. Then I got the Vichy cream and folder, with the headline: Is your skin aging throughout the day? I really started to worry! :) It's not really that bad, but I do notice that I'm not as youthful in appearance as I once was. Yes, there are grey hairs (just a few mind you!) and yes, my skin is aging. But it's starting to feel softer again. I've been faithfully trying out Vichy's LiftActiv Supreme and I'm starting to notice a difference.


If you're in the same middle-aged boat as me, this will make you feel even better! Facial skin "ages" (looks older" throughout the day. Signs of tiredness become more noticeable, wrinkles become more obvious and firmness diminishes. Compared to when you wake up "refreshed" (does anyone really get enough sleep?), at the end of the day, your skin looks older. BUT, there's good news, especially if you're part of that group of 1 in 2 women who feels they look older in the evening than in the morning.

Monday, February 23, 2015

Scholastic Monday ~ The Scarecrow's Wedding

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

We all love a good story - especially one that includes love, drama, humor, originality and a happy ending! The Scarcrows' Wedding by Julia Donaldson was recently released by Scholastic and it includes all the above aspects which all come together to make this a picture book for kids that are approximately ages 4-8 years old.

The Scarecrows' Wedding tells the tale of two scarecrows, Betty O'Barley and Harry O'Hay, who are planning the perfect wedding. The scarecrow couple hunts around the farm for everything they need for the upcoming wedding. They are able to find what they need from their farmyard friends - the geese, the cows, and the mice. However, the story takes a turn for the worse when Harry leaves to search for flowers on his own and he ends up being delayed by other animals along the way. Harry is so slow that the farmer gets another scarecrow to replace him. This new scarecrow isn't anything like Harry and ends up carelessly starting a fire in the hayfield and leaves poor Betty amidst the flames. (Spoiler alert: Harry arrives just in the nick of time to save his bride, and as planned, they have the best wedding yet.)

Thursday, February 19, 2015

New, Innovative Sippy Cups!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Sippy cups are a must have for any one with toddlers and young children in their home! We've gone through the toddler stage 4 times, and about to head into our 5th round of toddler-hood, so we have tried our fair share of different types of sippy cups over the past years. Some have not lasted long, some have leaked so much that we didn't use them again, and some just haven't been well-liked by our kids. It can be hard to find a good sippy cup that your children like to use and that is leak proof and versatile.

Tommee Tippee recently released a new line of spill-free cups for ages 4 months+, 7 months+, 9 months+ and 12 months+. There are different designs for different ages and stages, which is wonderful. The different cup designs include ones that are made in sippee style, straw style as well as insulated cups and sportee bottle cups. They also come in a variety of sizes including 5, 8, 9, and 10 oz. sizes. They are versatile as well as all of their lids and bases are interchangeable - personally, I LOVE this feature of Tommee Tippee sippy cups! The cups are made with your child's health in mind and are both BPA and phthalate-free as well as dishwasher safe. All of the above are fabulous features that we love, but my favorite part about the new Tommee Tippee cup line is that they are non spill and leak proof! This is something that is very important to a busy mom who likes to keep messes to a minimum.

Affilliations

Sites we enjoy

Vote for us!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Please rate us at The Mom Blogs

  © Template modified from Blogger template "Simple n' Sweet" by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP