Glimpse: April 2012

Monday, April 30, 2012

DK Discovery Day ~ Car Crazy! ~ GIVEAWAY!

Although the girls in our home are definitely outnumbering the boys (4 to 2!), we still seem to have our fair share of race cars and fast paced vehicles driving around our home. And the 2 boys in our home (Daddy & son :) ) can still get us girls discussing cars, monster trucks, jets, etc! The book that we are featuring this week from DK Canada is only going to increase the car-talk in our home. Car Crazy is a 96 page book that is packed full of all things fast and furious. It wastes no time in showing us what the fastest, loudest, most powerful, most expensive, and even the most outrageous vehicles are!

There are plenty of colorful pictures and loads of facts about each vehicle. Not only that, but Car Crazy also shares the human-interest stories behind the best racing drivers & stuntmen. I love that the book is full of real-life facts AND stories! Car Crazy is a perfect read for anyone wanting to learn more about automobiles...and anyone who is a little car-crazy themselves. ;)

Even though our son is not old enough to read this book on his own yet, he still LOVES it when we read him a few pages each day. It's a fabulous way to expand your knowledge of cars, and not only is our 5 year old son learning but there's plenty of new facts in Car Crazy that I've learned now as well!
WIN IT! One of our readers is going to win their own copy of Car Crazy! In order to enter please follow the instructions on the form below. CANADA ONLY! Contest ends May 14, 2012. a Rafflecopter giveaway
**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Saturday, April 28, 2012

Cuddle With a Purpose

We've always enjoyed toys or products that are versatile, and that have more than one use or purpose! Kids grow so fast that it's nice to have something that will last for more than one 'stage' of development! With the recent addition of a new baby in our home, we've started to once again, bring out the baby toys. Although she is too young to really play with them yet, it gives her big sisters and brother great joy to 'help' her play with them for now. :)

My Little Mousie is a great Canadian online shop that carries a fabulous brand of kids toys...ones that are unique and high quality. They carry the Sigikid line of products which are originally from Germany. Sigikid is a family enterprise in Germany and is known for its premium soft toys and plush animals. Sigikid has recently won a number of awards such as "toy of the year", "eco test recommendable!" The owner of My Little Mousie is passionate about these great toys and that passion seems to be rubbing off here in Canada!

We received an adorable Frog Teething Toy and Rattle. Even a small baby toy such as the frog is enough to convince me that Sigikid products are worth purchasing. The quality is wonderful and they are built to last those through teething and toddlers. :) I also love the fun, unique and practical designs. The frog is a toy that is perfect for cuddling OR entertaining! It comes with a little rattle built in for entertainment, and the feet are made from phthalate free plastic with little pimples - so if your child is in the teething or chewing stage these frog feet would be ideal! It is also the perfect size to throw into the diaper bag or to take along on a road trip or even to the grocery store. In addition to cute teethers such as this one, you'll also find some fantastic wooden toys, soft baby toys, products for when you are out and about and more!

You'll love the cute designs and the durability of these items. They would make ideal baby gifts, birthday gifts...you name it! Head over and take a peek at all the fun & practical products that My Little Mousie has to offer you. While you're at it, their Facebook page is a great one to "Like!"

BUY IT! My Little Mousie offering all our readers a great discount! In order to receive 20% off all orders use the code: glimpse20. Expires May 31, 2012.

 **Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Bubbles & Squeak for Baby ~ GIVEAWAY!

When it comes to babies there's nothing cuter than those little newborn "squeaks" they make...I just love those little baby sounds. :) And when they get a little older and learn the trick of blowing bubbles? Well, that's just as adorable! It doesn't seem to matter whether it's our first or our fourth baby...I still find all these baby memories and moments so wonderful. :) There is one thing that is a little different once you reach baby #4 though...and that is the fact that when people ask me what you need for a baby gift, I'm left rather speechless as by now we've collected almost all the baby items a person could want! ;) That said...there is one store that we recently discovered which has a fabulous line of safe and natural skincare products for babies that would make a perfect gift for either a first time mom or a 4th time mom! The Bubbles & Squeak (don't you love that name?!) line of baby products is wonderful and we received a beautiful gift box filled with some of these products for our baby girl.

The Baby Bum Butter was one of my favorites. It is perfect for protecting baby's bum from rashes...and when a rash does appear, this is also a great way to help it heal up quickly. It's made with the finest tropical oils including hemp, olive oil, cocoa butter, apricot kernel oil, etc. The great thing about the Baby Bum Butter is that it is multi-purpose! Not only is it great for little bottoms, but it's also good for those minor bumps and boo-boo's that are bound to happen. The Sweet Cheeks Powder is a great product to pair with the Baby Bum Butter, as it is an effective way to help with healing and keeping moisture away from your child's skin. I love the deliciously light scent of it as well...it makes your baby smell so good.

Bubbles & Squeak also has products for bath time and for general skin care. The Chamomile Baby Lotion is great for the sensitive skin of a baby or child. It is fragrance-free, which is something that I appreciated about the lotion! And we can't forget about the Chamomile Baby Soap...perfect for bathing! Both of these products contain chamomile-infused olive oil which makes them unique and great for your skin. (these can be enjoyed by older children or grown-ups too!!)

One last product I'd like to share with you is the Nighty Night Massage Oil. Just the thing to calm baby down and help her relax before bedtime. It's made with Grapeseed Oil and Essential Oil of Lavender which are soothing to baby and to Mommy & Daddy as well! As you can see, the Bubbles & Squeak line is filled with fabulous products for babies & children...and hey, no one says that Mom & Dad can't use them as well! I love that the products are filled with safe and natural ingredients, and they are ideal for gift ideas too! In fact, Soapstones will even pack up your products in a special gift box for you if you'd like!

In addition to the Bubbles & Squeak line, Soapstones also carries a great supply of other natural bath and body products for the whole family!! You'll find Canadian made products which were made to give you healthy skin, a relaxing, wholesome soak in the tub and more!

WIN IT! Soapstones is giving one lucky reader the entire Bubbles & Squeak line, all done up in a beautiful gift box! In order to enter please follow the instructions on the form below. OPEN TO CANADA ONLY! Contest ends May 12, 2012.
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 **Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Friday, April 27, 2012

Get it clean with Oxiclean! ~ GIVEAWAY!

It seems like I'm always working on a stain on someone's clothing. I had hopes (long ago) that as the children got older, the stains would change. I was right...but not how I expected. The stains have changed, but not in frequency, just in kind! With 3 kids, each of whom is at a different stage of eating and playing, it seems like someone is always getting something on their shirt - or better yet on my shirt! :) Like yesterday when I got a very enthusiastic hug from a 6-year old who'd just eaten a cupcake with the bluest icing imaginable! Um...thanks dear! :) Another one I'm working on is some mud/clay on my husband's light brown dress pants - from when he picked up our baby girl who had fallen, while visiting a friend's farm. I'd changed her clothes from her Sunday best, so SHE wouldn't get dirty, and she didn't. But his pants have mud in some very strategic and obvious places. I could go on... and on...

I've tried various methods and products for stain removal. Some are more successful than others. :) It would take a lot longer than one blog post to discuss this in detail. Let's get right to the point... one of the products I keep coming back to is OxiClean.

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Lalabee for Mom & Baby ~ GIVEAWAY!

Welcoming a new baby into a home is a special event, isn't it? :) As you all know, we recently were able to welcome a new baby girl...and with all the welcoming also comes a need for some safe skin care products for both baby and mom. Lalabee Bathworks is a fabulous place to find bath and body products for the whole family. Each of their items is natural, safe, and are made from a majority of organic ingredients as well. We received one of their best selling items for babies - Lalabee's Bottom Balm. This cream is perfect for both keeping your little ones bottom dry and protected from wet diapers, as well as for soothing and healing up any rashes. It is petroleum free, fragrance free, essential oil free and paraben free...quite a list huh?! :) It's definitely something that I feel very good using on my little girl. I should also mention that this diaper cream works really well with cloth diapers. We have been using it with our cloth diapers now for several weeks and haven't noticed any build-up on the diapers, and our that little baby bottom is still rash free!

Now...on to Mom! Lalabee Bathworks also has some products that are perfect for both new moms or moms that have 'been around the block' already. The Lanolin Free Nipple Cream is one item that is great for a new mom. I would highly, HIGHLY recommend this one! I found it very soothing during the first weeks of nursing this time around, and the fact that it is lanolin free is a huge plus for me as well. The nipple cream is made from great healing and soothing ingredients such as calendula, shea butter, chamomile and more. It is also unscented and 100% natural. It has been a huge help to make the transition into nursing more comfortable for myself...and it would be a great item to tuck into a gift for a new or expecting mama!

 Did you know that both the Bottom Balm and the Lalabee Nipple Cream rate as one of the top least toxic creams on the Cosmetic Database?! It's true, and it's so nice to find products that are safe, non-toxic and that still do the job well. In addition to these two great products, you'll also find many other great, natural goodies at Lalabee. While your there be sure to check out their monthly deal! WIN IT! Lalabee is giving one of our readers a container of Bottom Balm! In order to enter please follow the instructions on the form below. OPEN TO CANADA ONLY! Contest ends May 10, 2012. a Rafflecopter giveaway  

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Sing a book! ~ GIVEAWAY!!

Do you remember the song "The Bear went over the mountain?" I remember singing it at school (grade 2 maybe?) and thinking it was kind of silly that the Bear only saw the other side of the mountain... I wonder if the author of a new version of this song thought the same thing?

Iza Trapani
Iza Trapani, bestselling children's book author and illustrator, is known for her popular extensions of nursery rhymes. She's published many nursery rhymes, including Baa Baa black Sheep, I'm a Little Teapot, Mary Had a Little Lamb, Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, and her retelling of The Itsy Bitsy Spider has sold over a million copies! Ms. Trapani was born in Poland, and immigrated to the US when she was 7 years old. She learned to read English as she read the poems in a Mother Goose collection. I guess her connection with the nursery rhymes has remained strong ever since.

Julie's family's impressions:

"The Bear Went Over the Mountain" is a wonderful retelling of the classic song. I think it really it really captures the exploratory spirit of children, as the bear goes over the mountain and discovers so many new things. I like how the focus is on the 5 senses: the bear sees, hears, touches, tastes and smells great new discoveries on the other side of the mountain. Just when we received this book, Mr. D's nursery school was studying the 5 senses, so I lent them the book to read at story time, and they really enjoyed it as well. Iza is a masterful rhymer - and my children (and I) really love stories that rhyme and keep a rhythm! The illustrations are beautifully done and really help the reader to enter into the bear's activities. Through the illustrations, we subtly follow the bear through the 4 seasons, including his deep sleep at the end! I especially like that the music and words (in lyric form) are included at the end of the story, so you can sing along on tune! :)

The cover, pulling you in to discover just what is on the other side of the mountain!

Andrea's family's impressions:

A book that can be sung is always a big hit in our home! Our kids love to sing, and both of us parents are music lovers as well...so when we can sing a story it is extra fun. :) "The Bear Went Over the Mountain" is a great book in our opinion! There are many aspects that we really enjoyed...the musical aspect, the bright, beautiful illustrations, as well as the way that the story incorporates both the 5 senses and the 4 seasons. Put that all together and it makes a fabulous book for children!
Bear, exploring his touch!
"The Bear Went Over the Mountain" is published by Sky Pony Press (ISBN-10: 1-61608-510X, ISBN-13: 978-1-61608-510X) and is available at local and online booksellers as of April 2012.

a Rafflecopter giveaway **Disclosure: The product mentioned above has been given free of charge from SkyHorse Publishing in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

More Moisture for your hair! ~ GIVEAWAY!!

Trying to get the moisture back into your skin and hair after a long dry winter takes a while and some good products too! At the end of the winter, I received a sample of Burt's Bees new conditioner (and since then, the corresponding shampoo) to try out and see if it wouldn't revive my hair!

Burt's Bees has recently introduced it's NEW & IMPROVED hair care formulas. They are infused with Jojoba protein and Amino Acids for hair that's manageable, sot, smooth and healthy-looking.  The More Moisture shampoo and conditioner system is a great one to try out.

Monday, April 23, 2012

Scholastic Monday - Just Behave Pablo Picasso!

This week's book for Scholastic Monday is a great one! Not only does it tell a story, but it tells a true story, and gives kids a taste of a bit of history as well. Just Behave, Pablo Picasso! by Jonah Winter is all about Picasso...an artist who was inspiring, playful and brilliant. This book is a perfect introduction of who Picasso was. It provides a simplified look at the art career of Picasso and even though it is, in a sense, history, it is still a lot of fun to read!

 I loved the message that the book gave - that even though Picasso was a world-famous artist, it doesn't mean that no one every called his artwork "ugly"! Everyone told him to "Just Behave"...yet he almost never listened. This book would be a great one for kids who enjoy drawing, painting, creating, etc. and who have heard others say mean things about something they have made. As the story unfolds, we see how Pablo faced his critics and ended up creating some amazingly original pieces of artwork and how he follows his heart, you cannot help but be inspired and encouraged!  

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Saturday, April 21, 2012

Live green - Live Clean! ~ GIVEAWAY!!

Are you doing anything for Earth Day tomorrow? I know there are plenty of events around here to help celebrate this day and also to raise awareness for "green" living.

One thing about going "green" is that every little bit counts and small, gradual changes in what you do and products you use can make a contribution for the better - for our Earth, but also for ourselves. One thing you can do is choose personal care products that use eco-friendly and people-friendly ingredients.
Five years and more than 50 products later... Live Clean, the Canadian brand of eco-friendly products for hair, body, hands, baby and pets started it all.

Live Clean believed it was possible to create pure, eco-friendly products that were both efficacious and well-priced.  They believed that you didn’t have to sacrifice aesthetics for purity and that it could be done affordably.  Live Clean proved themselves right.

Friday, April 20, 2012

Healing Hazel - could it work for you?

I will be so glad when our baby has all her teeth - none of my children have been happy teethers, and I'm so ready to be done with teething!

One thing that has provided us with some relief is a hazelwood teething necklace. The Hazelwood tree is indigenous to Quebec, and using hazelwood as a teething reliever was well known among First Nations peoples long ago. More recently, hazelwood has been fashioned into necklaces and bracelets, with helpful effects for many different health conditions. The basic premise is that hazelwood is alkaline, and helps to neutralize acidity through contact with the skin. Many conditions are associated with excess acidity, including:

hazelwood branches waiting to
be turned into necklaces or bracelets

  • acne
  • eczema
  • psoriasis
  • canker sores
  • ulcers/heartburn
  • arthritis
  • asthma
  • headaches
  • migraines
  • diaper rash
  • fever and pain while teething

As well it can help reduce upset stomach during pregnancy and prevent tooth decay.

Healing Hazel began manufacturing hazelwood necklaces and bracelets in 2004, although the founder had been handcrafting necklaces since 1982 for sale to family and friends. Her son wore a hazelwood necklace given by his grandmother and this sparked an interest and passion for hazelwood products. Healing Hazel holds a Medical Device Licence issued by Health Canada.

Miss A has been wearing her teething necklace and my mother, who suffers from rheumatoid arthritis, has been wearing a hazelwood bracelet. Here's what we noticed:

Miss A is still noticeably teething, although not drooling as much when wearing the necklace, and seemingly much less sensitive than when she does not have the necklace on. Recently, she has been having a lot of trouble with eczema patches, and we haven't noticed any difference at all, with the necklace on or not. My mom thinks that her wrist (with the bracelet) is less painful and more mobile than it used to be, and that the swelling is somewhat reduced.

Healing Hazel necklaces are available in designs and lengths for adults, children and infants. One feature that is interesting is that the wood on Healing Hazel's products is larger than the decorative beads, so it's always in contact with the skin. Healing Hazel products are available at many retailers throughout Quebec as well as across the country (and in the US). Check the sales point locator on the website for a dealer near you.

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Lavish & Lime ~ $30 GC GIVEAWAY!

Spring is here and our the grass, plants, etc. (here in Canada anyways :) ) have finally emerged from the layer of snow! This means that not only can we start dreaming about gardening, playing in the sandbox, etc. but we also get to celebrate Earth Day! April 22nd has been dubbed as Earth Day and we are thrilled to be able to feature one of the best eco-friendly online shops in lieu of this special day! Lavish & Lime is an unbeatable source for eco-friendly products for the whole family.

One of their latest natural products is a great line of natural nail polish! Scotch Naturals is a high quality nail polish that is made without ANY of those damaging chemicals. It is a 100% chemical-free polish and is made with a water-based formula that is actually good for your nails! The colors are great as well - vibrant, long lasting and gorgeous. It's so nice to be able to have the option to "pretty up" your nails without harsh chemicals. The same company also makes Hopscotch Kids Natural Nail Polish - which is perfect for kids. Wouldn't it be fun to have a little mother-daughter time this Earth Day and paint your nails with a safe, natural, eco-friendly product? :)
Of course, once you are tired of the color or are ready to remove it, Scotch Naturals also offers a safe and natural nail polish remover. Once again, it has no toxic chemicals and is even 100% biodegradable! The remover is easy to use as well...just spray on, let it soak for a few minutes and wipe it off.

Lavish & Lime has a PILE of other fabulous, eco-friendly products as well. From art supplies to Waste-free lunch ideas and more.

BUY IT!
Lavish & Lime is offering a special Earth Day discount code! Receive 20% off any order PLUS receive a FREE compostable toothbrush with the first 50 orders!! Discount & offer are valid from Friday, March 20 to Sunday, March 22, 2012.

WIN IT!
Lavish & Lime is giving one of our readers a $30 Gift Certificate! In order to enter please follow the instructions on the form below.


a Rafflecopter giveaway



**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Stella and Sam ~ GIVEAWAY!

Imaginative, fun, endearing and captivating...all words that describe a great series called Stella and Sam! We recently received the Stella and Sam, Follow Me! DVD which has been a big hit in our home. The series is based on the best-selling novels of Marie-Louise Gay and is brought to life by Disney.

Stella is an adorable redhead, who is packed full of energy, adventure, imagination and slightly outlandish ideas, and her little brother Sam is just as sweet. He's a little more apprehensive and is full of questions for his big sister. Her answers are either plausible or preposterous, but whatever it is that she says it'll certainly bring a smile to your face!
This was our first taste of Stella and Sam, but it mostly likely won't be our last as we ALL fell in love with the characters and the series! Our kids enjoyed the colorful animation, and the fun story lines. And as a parent, I LOVED Stella and Sam for my kids. There is no negative attitudes - Stella and Sam clearly adore each other and there is no fighting or arguing between the two. In fact, they set a stellar example of what a relationship between siblings should or could be! I love the positive attitudes and the way that the characters explore the world. I would highly recommend the Stella and Sam series to any family with young children. It is a wholesome, high quality, entertaining collection for children and families!

If you haven't had a chance to see Stella and Sam before, take a look at this great video which gives you a taste of the behind-the-scenes action as well as a sneak peek into the actual Stella and Sam episodes...

 

WIN IT!
One of our readers is going to win their own Stella and Sam DVD! In order to enter please follow the instructions on the form below. Open to Canada only. Ends May 2, 2012.

a Rafflecopter giveaway




**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Wear a Daffodil in support...



**Disclosure: No compensation has been received for this post. Please consider this post as a way we are contributing to the fight against cancer. Please see the full Terms of use.

For all your stuff - the Mommy Hook!!

Don't worry, we're not going to hang YOU up!! :) Really!!

Even now, after 6 1/2 years with children in the family, I am still amazed at how much stuff we need to bring with us, or how much stuff we accumulate on even the most casual of outings. And, I'm trying to be minimalist here! :) My arms can only carry so much, and often I have the stroller without a basket under, and of course, no one wants to help carry bags - "they're too heavy!" (said in a whiny, poor-me-I'm-so-weak, voice!) :)

When I was offered a Mommy Hook, I jumped at the chance! This super strong and very large hook (essentially a large carabiner clip) attaches easily to your stroller handle, and can be used to help attach some of the stuff you're schlepping around so your arms are free (you know, for pushing the stroller plus carrying at least 1 more child!) It can also attach to a shopping cart, or be used as is to help prevent those bags from biting into your hands.

The Mommy Hook is made from durable, heavy-duty aluminum and is lightweight and versatile. I especially like the rubber grip - it's comfortable to hold on to and helps keep The Mommy Hook from slipping. Lately when we've been walking to school, I've had the youngest walker hold on to The Mommy Hook at least while we are crossing the street - she's 2 (I babysit) and it's been great for her, as it's easier to hold on to than the stroller itself, and great for me because she's right there with me and easy for me to keep track of.

The Mommy Hook is available at many retailers throughout Canada and the US, including Zellers, The Bay, Toys R Us, Babies R Us, and soon at Canadian Wal-Marts as well.

**Disclosure: The product mentioned above has been given free of charge from Mom Dad and Baby in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Monday, April 16, 2012

Dk Discovery Day ~ Wild Baby Animals ~ GIVEAWAY!

Learning to read opens up a whole new world for children! Our 5 year old son has been learning to read this past year, and is doing amazingly well. He LOVES it when he can read a story by himself. It's fun to watch how each new sentence comes with the anticipation of finding out what is going to happen next!

Since DK Canada is all about books, we can definitely assume that they LOVE watching children learn to read as well. :) This week for DK Discovery Day I want to share with you their Level 1 DK Readers. There are some great books in this collection, and we received the Wild Baby Animals Reader. Not only does this book have simple, easy to read language in it, but there are colorful, real-life photos on every page as well. I would definitely say that these readers are designed to both capture your child's interest and help develop good reading skills. As a bonus, they also teach your children about useful topics and provide fun facts on a variety of topics. The Wild Baby Animals book gives a smattering of great facts about wild baby animals and it's a great way to encourage both learning to read...and reading to learn!

Check out more of the Level 1 DK Readers over at DK Canada, and give your children the tools they need to develop a love for reading and learning!

WIN IT!
DK Canada is giving a copy of Wild Baby Animals to one of our readers! In order to enter, please follow the instructions on the form below. CANADA ONLY! Ends April 30, 2012.


a Rafflecopter giveaway


**Disclosure: The product's mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

The Joy of Having a Baby...

Most of you probably read the announcement posted a week or so ago...but in case you didn't, our family recently welcomed a 4th little babe into our home ~ literally! :) After 3 hospital births, we were thrilled to finally have the opportunity to have a midwife and to have a home birth AND a water birth this time around. It was my "dream birth"...perfect in absolutely every way!

Mama Goddess Birth Shop is a great resource for both midwives and home births, so I was very excited to discover their website a few months ago! The shop is a quality source for all sorts of birthing supplies as well as home birth kits, gifts, birth pools, pregnancy and baby needs and so much more! We received the Mama Goddess Home Birth Kit Deluxe, and it was definitely a big part of what made our home birth a success. The kit comes complete with all the birthing supplies you'll need when you're planning a home birth. Everything is nicely packaged, and ready to go, and it makes preparing for a home birth easy.


Just a few of the items that you would receive in a deluxe kit are:

~ 2 plastic backed sheets,
~ Epsom salts (for healing)
~ Newborn baby hat
~ 1 Vial Arnica 30C to help with bruising postpartum
~ A Bag of Perineal Healing wash herbs and information on using the herbs postpartum.
~ Baby hand and foot printing kit
~ Hot Water Bottle

The list of what is all included is a whole lot longer...you can check it out here. Mama Goddess Birth Shop also sells most of these items separately so you can just purchase the items you need as well. They have a huge selection of very affordable products that you can use during pregnancy, during a home birth or a hospital birth and postpartum as well. I would highly recommend Mama Goddess Birth Shop to anyone who has recently had a baby, is pregnant or will be someday.

We count ourselves blessed to have experienced an amazing home birth and here's a big THANK YOU to Mama Goddess Birth Shop for the part they played in making it successful!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Friday, April 13, 2012

Making informed food choices...

This is not a post about what you should choose to feed yourself or your family. There...got that off already! I have enough trouble with this one to know that I'm the last person who should grab a soap box and try to convince you of what to do.

Rather, this is a post about something that might help you as you are choosing what you are going to eat.

There's a lot of information out there about food, and food choices. And it's coming at us from many different sources, many of them slightly biased in favour of their own product. As you do your grocery shopping, there are so many products available, different versions and brands of the same product. Like yesterday, I was looking for tomato sauce. Shouldn't be that hard, right? Except there are 3 or 4 brands, each with an original, spiced, salt-free and more options available.  I was fortunate yesterday to be shopping only with our 17-month old daughter, who still sits up front in the cart, strapped in, and so I can check or compare a few products. But add our 2 older boys to the mix and there's not a whole lot of patience or tolerance for checking any more. :)


All food products in Canada must display the Nutrition Facts table (NFt) on their labeling. I know there's a similar label policy in the USA as well. This table is a designed to allow you to see, at a glance, which key nutrients are in the product, enabling you to make a more informed choice. But, do most Canadians really know how to use the nutrition facts table? I know I look at it often, especially to check the values of certain nutrients, such as sodium, but I was never quite sure what the values really meant, in daily practical terms.

So, Health Canada and Food & Consumer Products of Canada have decided to collaborate on a Nutrition Facts campaign. Research shows that the majority of Canadians were not using the NFt as intended and that 83% of Canadians wanted more information on how to use the NFt. You may have seen a television commercial (above) or magazine ad for the campaign in recent weeks.

These 2 organizations reached out to bloggers across the country and invited us to attend a Webinar during the last week of March to find out more about the NFt and the campaign, and encouraging us to share this information with our readers. The members of the Food & Consumer Products of Canada support this campaign. 92% have launched or reformulated products. 73% have strategies to help consumers manage caloric intake. 80% communicate healthy lifestyle/eating messages to consumers. All are active partners in consumer education through funding, marketing expertise and consumer connectedness.

The Webinar was presented by 3 different speakers: the director general of the Office of Nutrition Policy and Promotion of Health Canada, Dr. Hasan Hutchinson, the Vice President, Scientific and Regulatory Affairs, Food & Consumer Products of Canada, Phyllis Tanaka and Registered Dietician and mother of 2 young children, Sue Mah. Each speaker told us a little about the campaign and it's intention, as well as providing us with specific examples and tips to help us understand and use the % Daily Value chart more effectively.

Here are the Key Consumer Messages from the campaign:
  • Making informed food choices can benefit you and your family. Learning to use the % Daily Value is a simple way to help.
  • Use the % Daily Value to quickly understand if a product has a lot or a little of a nutrient. 5% or less is a little; 15% or more is a lot.
I found this guideline to be very helpful.
  • Use the % Daily Value to compare food products. Choose a higher % Daily Value for the nutrients you want more of like calcium or fibre. Choose a lower % Daily Value for the nutrients you want less of like saturated and trans fat or sodium. 

Best of luck with your grocery shopping endeavours! :)

**Disclosure: I received a bag of food samples presenting the % Daily Value chart from the supporters of this campaign in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Dapper Snappers - GIVEAWAY!!

My boys have a lot of trouble finding pants that will stay up. If the length is right, usually the waist is much too big. And not all pants have adjustable elastic waistbands...so what are you supposed to do? One of the best answers I've seen so far (other than totally remodeling the waist of the pants) is the Dapper Snapper!

This adjustable toddler belt attaches through the belt loops of the back of a pair of pants to tighten up the back of the pants. And, it does work! The child can easily take down and pull up their own pants when needed. This mom-invented belt is made in the USA, is recommended for ages 9 mo-6 yrs is perfect for kids who are in between sizes or wearing hand-me-downs!

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Lucky Puppy ~ GIVEAWAY!

Are you a dog or puppy owner and/or lover? Although we are not dog owners, we do have our favorite dogs/puppies! A dog is the kind of pet that is loyal beyond compare, and the I've seen the saying that a dog is "a man's best friend" ring true again and again! Lucky Puppy is an online shop that is filled with a pile of great gear for dog lovers! The idea for Lucky Puppy came from Sandi - a dog lover herself. Not only did she create some adorable clothing for kids as well as some stylish products for adults, but she took things one step further and creates these clothes with a purpose in mind. A percentage of Lucky Puppy sales are donated to certain dog organizations which helps to make some of those doggies into very Lucky Puppies!

We received several items from Lucky Puppy. One of our favorites is this really fun TIC-TAC-TOE T-Shirt. I just love the design, and our son did too! The shirt is 100% combed cotton and will be ideal for the upcoming summer months. We also received a Pink Inside Out Long Sleeve T-shirt for our daughter. It has a cute little Heart PAW Logo instead of the puppy face and it's soft fabric, loose fit and the unique inside out design makes it both unique and very comfortable. Ideal for little puppy-loving girls! In addition to a bunch of great products for kids, there are also some really sweet infant clothes for the littlest ones among us.

Lucky Puppy also carries products for us grown-ups. :) I got the Lucky Puppy Chocolate Fitted T-Shirt. It is simple, but stylish and the 100% baby rib cotton makes it a breathable t-shirt that is perfect for hotter days, or even for layering on a cooler day. We found that each of the products from Lucky Puppy were high quality, comfortable...and of course they look great too!

So for all the dog lovers out there (even if you only love your neighbor's dog ;) ), Lucky Puppy is a great place to shop for quality clothing...and while you're shopping you'll be able to help dogs/puppies in need as well!

WIN IT!
Lucky Puppy is giving one of our readers an instock item of the winner's choice (excluding hoodies & jewelry)!! In order to enter please follow the instructions on the form below. Contest open to Canada and USA. Ends April 26, 2012.


a Rafflecopter giveaway



**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Adding a little colour ~ GIVEAWAY!!

We have been looking at our ugly stairwell since we bought our house in the fall of 2007, with plans to someday change what we were seeing. I'll post some "before" pictures - you'll see why. Off-white walls, white trim (UGH!) and ugly brown paint on the wood panelling. We just didn't know WHAT to do with it...or how to go about painting such an awkward space.




Sometimes all you need is a bit of motivation...this time it was receiving some painting tools in the mail for review that really set up (ME!) off. I should mention here that I am NOT a painter...somehow (and it's been rather easy, really) I've managed to escape having to paint every time. Not this time! :) In our box of accessories was a roller handle, a telescopic pole and an edger tool. Now we had a practical and safer way of painting the stairwell space with it's high ceiling.

Spot It!

One of our favorite family activities is to play games together. It makes my heart glad to see even our 5 & 3 year old playing simple games together on their own already! I love how games encourage families to get away from the TV, computer, etc. and to come together for some amazing family fun. Blue Orange Games loves to provide families with the tools to spend a night together playing games! They are a fabulous games company that produces high quality, eco-friendly games! They have some really great sounding ones too - and ones that would be suitable for a variety of ages.

We received a copy of the game Spot It. It is a lot of fun, and although it is meant for ages 6 and up, both our 5 and 3 year old children are amazingly good at it...even better than me sometimes I think! ;) The concept and rules of Spot It are very easy. The cards each have a variety of pictures on them and there is always one (and only one!) matching picture between any two cards...the goal is to spot this matching symbol as quickly as you can. There are 5 different ways to play the game which makes for even more hours of "spot it" fun! It sounds pretty simple...but you'd be amazed at how addicting the game can be...and how tricky it can be to spot the matching symbols sometimes as well. ;)

Want a little demonstration to see exactly what I'm talking about? Check out this short little video clip of just one of the ways to play Spot It...

Spot It is a perfect game to throw in your purse or backpack on your way to a family gathering, a party, a night out with friends, etc. I have a feeling it will also be great entertainment for our family when we go camping this summer. Spot it really is a ton of fun and if you need further proof, well it has not only won 12 best toy awards already, but half a million copies of Spot It have been sold through specialty toy stores alone in just 18 months! Obviously our family is not the only one enjoying Spot It!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Monday, April 9, 2012

Congratulations Andrea!!


New Baby Graphic #2


As most of you know, Andrea and her family were expecting a new little person to join their family. Well, baby Kira has arrived! I'm sure you all join me in wishing them a great and restful time getting to know Kira and adjusting to their new family!! Check out Andrea's blog to find out more and to see pictures!!

Scholastic Monday ~ Soccer Crazy!


It's spring and it's time get back into enjoying the great outdoors again! :) We're all gearing up for all those fun, summer sports and activities that both us and our kids enjoy. Soccer is definitely one of the popular summer sports for people of all ages and today we have a fabulous soccer-focused book from Scholastic Canada.

Soccer Crazy by Gilles Tibo is a fun, little story about Nicholas who is busy training really hard for his first soccer tournament. The problem is that he's practicing EVERYWHERE...in his room, in the kitchen, in the living room...all over his house, and well...to put it lightly, it's driving his family a little crazy! :)

The story is humorous and lighthearted and in the end, Nicholas' love of soccer can't be denied...and he even wins over his family in the end. :) It's a great story...full of fun and with a happy "goal-winning" ending! This book is a great way to get your children pumped for the soccer season - or for even just going out to the backyard to kick a ball around this summer!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned above have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Saturday, April 7, 2012

Hallmark for Easter!! ~ GIVEAWAY!!

Last-minute shopping - looked like a lot of people were out there today doing last minute Easter shopping! Head to your local Hallmark store for some great gift and card ideas!! There are some really nice Easter cards suitable for any recipient.

Our kids love the Squawkin' Egg-Droppin' Hen! This plus hen comes with 3 eggs that are laid as she sings a little song! Insert the eggs at the top of the hen, and watch the surprise as they come out!! :) Of course the kids love this one!

Don't you love Free Shipping!!

ONSGEAR is one of my favourite online shops!! The owners, parent-preneurs in their own right, have invented some very cool and practical items - our favourite being the MITT-ONS - they do indeed stay on, and keep the snow out, exactly as they're supposed to, and they last a whole lot longer than other brands of mittens we've tried! We love the Stay On Socks too! Now they've branched out and carry a whole lineup of unique and innovative parent-created items. From potty training to clothing, through feeding accessories and baby gear, they've sourced a great collection of stuff that people invented because they needed something that worked better.

For the whole month of April, ONSGEAR is offering free shipping!! This offer is valid on everything in their Inno-Shop.

One of the latest products to arrive in the Inno-Shop is the Bobee Diaper and Wipe Dispenser. This cool nursery accessory attaches to the wall, saving precious change table space. It would also prevent the wipes box from flying off the change table due to wildly kicking feet, a regular occurrence in our house, and a trick that our little girl thinks is absolutely hilarious!! Diapers dispense out the side, while wipes pull out of the bottom - all with one hand, because of course, you have your other hand on that very wiggly little person! The Bobee can be painted to match your nursery decor and comes with repositionable decals to add a decorative touch. New to the Canadian market, it is available for pre-order from ONSGEAR now, with shipment in mid to late April.

Head over to ONSGEAR and check out their collection of innovative products for children and families!!

**Disclosure: This post is being compensated by a reduced price on a purchase from ONSGEAR in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Affilliations

Sites we enjoy

Vote for us!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Please rate us at The Mom Blogs

  © Template modified from Blogger template "Simple n' Sweet" by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP